The First Ranker’s Weakest Ability V1: Chapter 1 Part 1

“Splash!”

It sounded surreal, as if it had originated from a faraway place.

Long, damp hair, smooth wet skin, and small yet well-shaped breasts…..

A breathtakingly cute and adorable girl stood there.

I was inside the men’s shower room.

And the girl that came out was not wearing a single piece of cloth at all.

“Eh?”

She widened her eyes as soon as she spotted me.

I guess it was just bad timing for her to come out. Her body was completely exposed to me.

After looking at everything, I turned away as I remembered.

“Ummm….”

I-I need to come up with  an excuse. No good. It’s in times like this I can’t panic.

I was fully dressed, and I just came here to check whether or not it was vacant. But that’s not the problem here.

The fact that I’ve seen it doesn’t disappear.

“Hey, pervert!”

“Er…this place is for men…”

“Shut up, shut up! Get the hell out of here!”

This girl’s anger was also matched by a sudden rise in the ambient temperature.

In an instant, the temperature exceeded what the sauna was able to withstand  , and the thermometer on hand went beyond the capacity.

An ability beyond that of humans.

Twenty years ago, mankind suddenly acquired a strange power.

Apparently, she has heat-related power.

About half of the students at this school are professionals who use their abilities in battle. I’m one of them so that in itself is nothing unusual.

But her face was not familiar to me.

“For God’s sake, please calm down!”

I took a step forward to persuade her.

“Don’t come any closer! 【Flower of flame】!”

The sound of air rubbing together, followed by a click. Then a small explosion. And afterwards, a bright red flower of flame bloomed in the air.

“Hey….!”

I was just barely out of reach of the fire. Did she adjust it? No way. That shouldn’t be the case.

However, I didn’t sense any serious intention of attack.

Then the answer is simple. One step forward at a time.

“Hey, I’m really going to burn you…….are you sure? I’ll hit you next time!”

“Just put some clothes on!”

I took off the shirt I was wearing, rolled it up, and threw it at her.

“Aah.”

It landed perfectly on the girl, just as I hoped. It opens like a parachute and wraps around her face.

That seemed to have broken her concentration. The temperature in the shower room was slowly dropping.

“Tell me when you get dressed. I’ll be over there.”

“Ugh…….”

I heard her groaning in annoyance, but she seemed to have at least listened to me. I could hear the sound of clothes being worn.

After a short pause, the girl muttered,

“I’m dressed.”

“Ah.”

When I turned around, I noticed a girl wearing a somewhat loose white shirt. She pulled the hem of the shirt tightly to cover her bottom.

……In some ways, this may be more exciting than being naked.

“I didn’t say you could look! Turn your head away from me!”

“My bad.”

Why was all this happening?

However, I knew what the reason was.

The ability’s name she just mentioned, 【Flower of flame】, reminded me of this.

She was a transfer student from Tokyo who had just arrived here in the Sapporo district.

I’m pretty sure her name was ── Supika Maigami.

It was now a holiday, and there weren’t many people in the school, so I could only assume that she had entered the wrong locker room. The signboard at the entrance was also particularly faint and not easy to understand.

“Stay here for now. I’ll call you when I make sure there’s no one else around.”

I went back to the changing room and made sure no one else was there. Then I proceeded to put on a replacement shirt.

I took out the “Cleaning” tag from the cleaning supplies section and hung it on the door.

I double-checked to make sure that there was no one else around.

“You can come out now. I’ll be outside.”

I called out to her and stood in front of the entrance.

 I’m the gatekeeper. No one else is allowed to go beyond this point.

After waiting for a while, the door opened, and Maigami came out.

She glared at me with tears in her eyes.

“Peeping tom.”

“Didn’t I tell you that this place is only for boys? And I’m not a peeping tom, so stop being so fussy.”

“I’m not fussy!”

“If that’s the case, then let’s just call this an accident. An unfortunate accident.”

“Ugh…”

“I’ll make it up to you through some kind of apology later. I know it was an accident, but I’m sorry. That should take care of it.”

No matter how it happened, the fact remains that I saw a girl naked. I’m very sorry about that.

Let’s leave this place for now. I need some time to settle down.

“My name is Haruchika Yorikawa. I’ll see you later.”

“Yorikawa──you mean the Yorikawa who’s the number one in the ranking order!?”

The ranking order.

This was one of the systems that have been introduced to the world ever since the emergence of various abilities.

Every city has its own combat power ranking, and I’m called the number one in Sapporo.

Once I turned around, she stared at me with her hands on her chest, as if she’d seen a ghost.

“I didn’t realize that…….I thought you were some scary guy.”

“You didn’t notice…?”

“Eh… never mind…it’s nothing.”

“Ah, yeah.”

Given that she strongly emphasized her point, I nodded my head.

What a strange reaction, but now that I think about it, I am one of the celebrities. So it kinda makes sense that people already knew my face in advance.

“…………”

“…………”

Maigami was staring at me. It wasn’t like the stare she’d given me before; it was more like she was trying to say something.

“What’s wrong?”

When I asked her numbly, Maigami finally opened her mouth.

“Hey, could you give me a tour of this school? I just moved to a new school, and I don’t want…..to get into that kind of trouble again.”

“…Okay.”

If you say so, I can’t refuse.

I nodded and scratched the back of my head at the same time.

The phone in my chest pocket started to vibrate. Of the two phones I was carrying with me, this was one of significant importance.

“Yes, it’s Yorikawa.”

〝Another〟has appeared in the commercial ward of Kita-Ku. Please come and offer us your assistance immediately.

“Understood.”

The evolution of humanity, the manifestation of different abilities, has also brought about a powerful enemy.

An apparition modelled on humans that operates on unique abilities──an other effect of evolution──common known as 〝Another〟[Don’t change this part]

Here we go again; I sigh inwardly. Recently, it seems as if the attacks are increasing in frequency .

I quickly explained to Maigami, who was standing in front of me.

“I’ve got work to do, so I’m going.”

I can’t afford to waste any more time. It’s time for me to go. As I hurriedly ran out, Maigami followed behind me.

“Wait, I’m coming too! I’ll lead the evacuation, and I’ll make sure I don’t get in the way.”

“Okay, then I’ll let you handle the evacuation.”

The more manpower we have, the better.

I left the school grounds and got into the car that came to pick me up.

An emergency vehicle painted in black and white accelerated with its siren’s blaring.



TL notes:


Support the author by buying the book here!

2 thoughts on “The First Ranker’s Weakest Ability V1: Chapter 1 Part 1

Leave a comment