I, An S-Rank Adventurer, Will Buy And Protect My Enslaved Childhood Friend I’ve Trained Together With In Swords V1: Epilogue

Several days after—discharged from the hospital, I was riding in a carriage from the royal capital to the town of Ludlow where my home was located.

I’d talked to the adventurer’s guild about the Empire’s mage.

That the fight had been initiated by the Empire’s mages, and that they had been aiming for Aine.

Though, despite being called ‘the Empire’s mage,’ they didn’t seem to belong to the Knight Order maintained by the Empire. In other words, it was possible there was collaborators in the Empire’s knights, but it seemed to be difficult to identify their real identity from there

However, I got no intention to pursue it deeply. If I were on my own, I might be able to at least get into the Empire and settle it, but… I got Aine.

If I wanted to protect her, at least right now, it should be the correct choice to stay by her side and to also stay away from the Empire.

So, I’d several jobs canceled, and decided to return to my home.

Sitting next to me, Aine started to ask a question. “So the town you’re living in, how is it?”

“Nnn, well it’s just a normal place. It’s small compared to the capital, and there’s not a lot of people there.”
“Oh really… Then, why aren’t you working in the Capital?”
“I’m not some kind of a workaholic, you know? The time when an S-adventurer is needed is… well, I guess it’s when there is a national disaster.”
“You said it so simply, huh. I don’t want that happening so often, though.”
“Ahaha, at least, it’s uncommon since I became an S-rank adventurer. And there are also other adventurers. Besides, it’s not like I became an adventurer to protect the country. That’s the knights’ job after all. Right now, I’m here to protect you/”
“…Could you, not say embarrassing things like that to my face?”

At my words, Aine looked and faced away. When she pointed out that it was an embarrassing thing, certainly, that might be true. However, my feelings towards Aine were real.

We’d exchanged our ‘feelings’ to one another, so I got any intention to even hide that feeling.

“I’m telling you the truth, so what’s there to be embarrassed about?”
“…Really, you’ve got that side in you. Maybe by nature…?”
“By nature?”
“Nope, it’s nothing. But, I also don’t plan to only get protected,” touching the collar, Aine muttered softly. She definitely must be thinking—if only the collar did not exist, she could fight properly.

In fact, that was also the reason why she was targeted. With no risk of the collar, even Aine should be able to fight decently.

However, I did not wish for Aine to fight.

“Even though I’ve been saying I want to protect you, you can’t readily agree to it, can’t you.”
“T-that’s obvious. I don’t want to become a burden.”
“I will never think of you as a hindrance just because you’re by my side, you know?”
“I’m telling you that kind of talking is embarrassing! Sheesh!” Aine blushed a little and raised her voice.

I ended up teasing her a little, huh…

With a small smile, I touched her cheek. “Sorry, but that’s also the truth.”

“…Nn. Well, I’ll forgive you. And also, you can’t work until that eye heals, okay?”

She must be worried about my still eyepatched eye—even though I’d proven that I could fight even if both eyes couldn’t see, Aine was a worrywart to no end.

“Then, I guess I’ll leave housework to you.”
“! O-obviously I will do that! I’ll do anything!”
“You speak so highly there… Have you ever been so homely?”
“Wha, how rude… Even I have helped Mom with housework, so I can at least do that much.”
“Wasn’t that pretty long ago?”
“I’ve been living alone since becoming a knight! Just watch… I will show you my housework skills!” Aine blabbered so with a vigor.

Despite feeling a bit anxious, in the shaking carriage, I set out for my own home together with Aine.

I also got no plan to increase my adventurer’s work that much. I want to be by Aine’s side as much as possible and cherish her…. It was because I was thinking so.

For that reason, I supposed I’d definitely have to find a way to remove the collar. That’d be the start—but before that, I’d savor the happiness of being by her side for now.

After all, my life with her had only just begun.



TL notes:


Support the author by buying the book here!

2 thoughts on “I, An S-Rank Adventurer, Will Buy And Protect My Enslaved Childhood Friend I’ve Trained Together With In Swords V1: Epilogue

Leave a comment