I Lent 500 Yen To A Friend And He Gave Me His Sister As Collateral. What Should I Do? V1: Chapter 3-A Tale of Miyamae Siblings

NOTE: Credit goes to Galado for helping with this chapter 🙂

Chapter 3: A Tale of Miyamae Siblings

It was already dark outside, but it wasn’t chilly, in fact it was a little humid. I wonder if this is another effect of global warming. I’m not sure.

I leaned against the iron fence just outside my room and gazed blankly outside.

But I didn’t have any purpose in mind, and I let out a deep sigh.

“Hah…… That’s really pathetic ……”

It is, of course, me who is so disgraced and belittled.

I sigh deeply, without any purpose in mind.

Now, Akari-chan is taking a bath. That beautiful high school girl, whom I am not used to seeing no matter how many times I see her.

I felt bad about waiting in the living room for her, so I ran outside like this, but from Akari-chan’s point of view, I might seem overly self-conscious.

However, that’s just the way it is.

It’s a single room. It is small and the walls are thin. I could clearly hear the sound of Akari-chan taking a shower or soaking in the bathtub.

There was no way I could calm down in such a state.

“Hmm?..”

Suddenly, my pocket shook.

“Ah?”

I pull out my phone, see the name on the screen, and I made up an idiotic voice.

But I was taken aback only at first. Soon after, I was pushed by the emotions that welled up from the bottom of my stomach to answer the call.

Hello?”

“Oh, Motomu! How are you?”

The caller is Miyamae Subaru.

He owed me money and sent Akari-chan to me, the source of everything that created this situation.

“You, How dare you call me for something……?”

“Eh? Why?”

How can this guy make such a cheerful voice ……?

I was getting annoyed, but then I remembered that I had heard from Akari-chan about the current situation of Subaru.

“Well, I heard you’re in Saipan now?”

“Huh? Saipan?”

“What?”

“Hmm…… Ah, yeah! I’m in Saipan right now! Well, it’s only noon here. I’ve lost my sense of place.”

‘You don’t know where you are by the hour.’

“Don’t you ever get that feeling?”

“You said it was noon, but there’s only about a one-hour time difference between Saipan and Japan. It’s still nighttime.”

“…………”

Subaru is blatantly silent.

Thanks to the quietness, the sound on the other end of the phone – the chirping of cicadas – can be heard clearly.

“Aren’t you a detective?”

“You’re just too loose.”

“Ku-kukuku… FUWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! I’m certainly not on Saipan!”

“Another cheap killer kind of play…..”

Subaru is as high-strung as ever, and I can’t help but relax my shoulders.

I can’t tell how many times I’ve been deceived by this guy ……. Normally I would laugh at him. But that doesn’t mean I hate him.

“Well, did you hear from Akari that I’m in Saipan?”

“Ah! Hey you-. You lied to Akari-chan, didn’t you?”

“No. I was trying to look good.”

“It doesn’t make any difference.”

Rather, the quality of the lie is bad because the pretense is completely a self-serving lie.

“I’m actually at a driving school right now.”

“Ha?”

“I want to take Akari for a drive when I get my license. …… Heh heh heh. Actually, it’s a brother’s surprise.”

“You say that like it’s something inspiring, but it’s not inspiring at all.”

“Ehhh??”

Subaru is surprised for some reason. There is no way that an older brother would offer up his younger sister for a mere 500 yen debt with any dignity left in him.

And I am convinced in the conversation. After all, Subaru knows that Akari-chan is at my house right now.

“Subaru, until now I thought it was okay to not get the money back, but this time I’m gonna say it. I want my money back.”

“That’s cruel, Motomu. In many ways.”

“What do you mean…..?”

“One reason is simply that I’m broke. The driver’s license camp cost me a lot of money, and I want to get a car after I get my license.”

“You owe me 500-yen. It’s not going to affect any of that.”

“Are you stupid? He who laughs at a penny will cry at a penny! How many tears do you think you’ll get if you neglect 500 yen?”

“Is that a fad?”

Although Akari-chan said the same thing.

But if Subaru knows that, then he shouldn’t have borrowed money in the first place.

“And also, Nanami-chan. I was thinking that it would be nice if we could go somewhere together at least once this summer. And for that, a license is also required for this purpose.. You see, as her boyfriend? It’s a natural thought, right?”

“Ahh, that’s just boasting……”

He boasted about this many times already, but today I felt even more annoyed than usual.

“Hey, hey, hey, are you jealous, Motomu-kun? You’ve never shown me anything like that before!”

“You look kind of happy.”

“Well, I would be happy to see an unknown side of my best friend. So, Motomu. Do you want a girlfriend too?”

“That’s….. well, sometimes I think so.”

‘Oh, yeah, yeah! That’s obviously right!”

I know it’s unusual, but I do have those feelings.

I have not been as active as Subaru, …… but of course I think my passive attitude is the main reason why I am currently single.

“Well, if it’s Motomu. I’ll give you special permission.”

“Why do I need your permission to talk about wanting a girlfriend?”

“I can’t say that from my mouth.”

I can imagine that guy’s grinning face even through the phone.

“You’re having a lot of fun, but from my point of view, I have no idea what you’re talking about.”

Oh, by the way, is my sister Akarin there?”

“What’s with that nickname…… She’s taking a bath right now.”

“What? You can’t possibly be peeking…”

“Of course not! I’m outside! Apartment hallway! Damn, don’t make me yell too loud because I’ll get angry….!”

“Well, that’s not my fault ……?”

“No, it’s Subaru’s fault. Most things in the world are his fault. That’s how I feel right now.”

“So, could you please tell Akari-chan? And while you’re at it, tell her it’s okay not to hang out with me anymore. You don’t have to pay me back.”

“No, I’ll pay you back! But it can’t be right away, so until then, I’ll let Akari-chan take care of you instead.”

“You’re saying some pretty lousy things, like offering up your own sister for a 500-yen debt, and you don’t even know what you’re talking about.”

“Well, well. Zuri doesn’t mind, does she?”

“That may be so,…… or it may just be that she doesn’t show it.”

“Akari is pretty clumsy. If she doesn’t like something, it comes out on her face right away.

If you don’t feel anything, I’m sure Akari doesn’t mind either.”

“…….”

I was so convinced because he was her brother that I just clammed up.

Indeed, Akari-chan doesn’t seem to dislike it, but rather enjoys it all the time…… Damn you, Subaru. He’s a devil who offers up his sister in exchange for a debt, but he says it like this.

“Akari said she wants to join the political science department.”

“Political science? I’m sure Akari-chan can aim for a better place…. She has good grades, right?”

“But she’s the one who said it, so it can’t be helped. Well, it’s her beloved brother’s college! As her brother, I want to support her.”

“…………”

“Hey, Why shut up?”

I fully understand that Akari-chan is indeed brotherly, but affirming it here will only get Subaru on a roll, so I’ll just respond with no comment.

But I didn’t know that Akari-chan wanted to study at the University of Political Science – the same as us. To be honest, I had never thought about it.

“She asked me about it during the Golden Week. She said she wanted to come here during the summer vacation. There will be an open campus, and Akari will be living alone, so she wants to see what it’s like.”

“Good point. But…..”

“It’s true. I said yes at the time, but I forgot that I had made a reservation for a driver’s license camp. So, I thought it was a good time to let Motomu take care of it! Ha-ha-ha!”

“That’s not funny!”

I couldn’t help but get a headache from Subaru, who said something quite selfish.

I don’t care what his debt is, I’m just saying that Subaru is a scum.

“You!! Such a selfish person ……”

“I’m not sure what to expect. It’s not like you don’t like Akari either, right?”

“That’s, well…… She’s a good girl.”

“Right? Besides, I feel comfortable with Motomu. After all, a super beautiful girl like Akari is in his bathtub, and she’s so harmless. You don’t even show any ulterior motive.”

“You’re absolutely ridiculous.”

“You’re making fun of me, but… I’m also praising you!”

That guy…. I bet he has a smug look on his face on the other end of the phone.

I, on the other hand, was tired of thinking about it all. I’m sure that’s exactly what Subaru was planning, and that still pisses me off.

“Anyway, I’m asking you to take care of Akari. She’s a good little sister who I’m not ashamed to show off anywhere, but she’s still just a child. I won’t forgive you if you make her cry!”

“Haah …… I understand. I’ll let her stay for a while anyway. Of course, I have no intention of doing anything strange.”

“Yeah! I know you don’t have the guts to do it anyways!”

“You’re making fun of me.”

Subaru laughs loudly while clearly stating so.

This bastard… He’s being too cocky.

I was about to open my mouth to complain when—

“Senpai?”

Akari came out of the room.

Dressed in pink, slightly childish pajamas, she was still wiping the water dripping from her long hair with a towel. I couldn’t tell if she was being childish or sexy.

“Wait, Akari is here? Bye! Please don’t tell her that I’m at a driver’s license camp!”

“What do you mean? Hey! Why are you running away…”

Subaru hangs up the phone so unilaterally.

He’s really selfish and free-spirited…..

“Your call, is it my brother?”

“Yeah…. You didn’t have to go out. You’ll catch a cold.”

“No, it’s warm and I’m fine.”

She smiled happily, and I felt that she looked a lot like Subaru, perhaps because I talked to him on the phone just a few minutes earlier.

Well, she’s many times better than Subaru.

“Damn you, Subaru…”

“Um, senpai? I wonder if my brother is causing you any more trouble…?”

“…………”

What is the intent of this question?

Right now, she herself is here to pay for the inconvenience her brother has caused.

Is it really late to point out now…? I myself don’t have an answer that I want.

“It’s just our business as usual.”

“I see.”

Akari-chan patted her chest in relief.

“Ah, right. Senpai, please take a bath.”

“Um. Okay.”

The moment I thought of taking a bath, I felt a rush of fatigue.

I looked at Akari-chan, thinking about all the things that happened today….. and she was tilting her head cutely.

“……that?”

On my sudden curiosity, I bring my face close to hers.

“Eh? Ah.. Wh-what? Se-senpai!”

What caught my attention was the aroma wafting from Akari-chan. It was an olfactory version of deja vu, or perhaps I should say I had smelled it before…

“I see. Akari-chan, did you use my shampoo or something?”

“Ha, ye-yes! I forgot to bring mine…. I’m sorry for borrowing.”

“No, it’s totally fine. I’m rather sorry for not being so thoughtful. It’s not every day that a girl comes to visit me… If you need it, we can go shopping tomorrow.”

It’s not that much, but I suggest such a thing while trying to look good.

In fact, I was convinced from the way Subaru spoke that this matter would not be overturned, and if it was inevitable anyway, I wanted Akari-chan to be as comfortable as possible without overreacting.

“Eh … Ye-yes! I want to go!”

“Well, then let’s do that… Oh, yeah. I have to put down the futon.”

“I’ll do it myself. Please go take a relaxing bath.”

“Okay. I’ll take your word for it then.”

After that conversation, I took a bath, washed off my fatigue, and…

Anyway, I had a headache because of my self-hatred for running into the eccentricity of suddenly sniffing a girl.

    ◇◇◇

“Haaaaaa… painful.”

“Senior, here’s barley tea!”

“Thank you.”

I felt uncomfortable seeing Akari-chan, so I ended up taking a long bath. I wiped my body and changed into a T-shirt and shorts, but I was still a bit overtired.

Leaning against the wall of the changing room, I feel sorry for Akari-chan, who offers me a glass in a hurry, but I gratefully accept it and slowly drink up the contents.

Yeah, adding water makes all the difference.

“I’m glad you’re here, Akari-chan…”

“What?!”

“I live alone. I have to do everything myself, even when I’m sick.”

It is indeed the first time for me to get a cold at home, but of course, if I were alone, I would not be able to prepare barley tea, and it would be even more difficult if I caught a cold.

It looks like I’m always troubling Akari-chan. I’m older than her, but I’m pathetic.

“If it’s okay for you, you can count on me as much as you want!”

“Akari-chan?”

“If you ever get sick, just call me and I’ll come rushing!”

For some reason, Akari-chan leans forward excitedly.

But I’m older than her and I don’t want to appear too pathetic. Although I’m showing it right now.

“Thanks for your offer but….”

“Please just accept my offer…If I had to see my senpai like this, I’m sure I’d be worried about whether he’s alive and well after I get home.”

“Well, you’re right……”

It would definitely not look good even if I acted tough in my pathetic appearance.

I was so proud of her that she went back to fetch barley tea for me.

However, if I talk about it after I got home, this is not a very easy distance to come from Akari-chan’s house, and it is physically impossible for her to rush here.

I managed to stand up, and was supported by Akari-chan, who also helped me get back to the living room, which was only a few steps away.

No, I properly refused at first. There is a size difference between me and Akari-chan.

But Akari-chan was adamant and would not give up. She was so determined that I almost felt dizzy.

If I were to collapse, the current Akari-chan would probably call an ambulance. Even though I think that would be unlikely, I can’t say it’s zero percent.

So, with her support, I naturally ended up in close contact with her…… The same shampoo and body soap were used, but the fragrance wafting from Akari-chan is completely different from mine – it seems to be of a higher quality. I don’t know why.

“Senpai, I still think you’re not okay…… you’re kind of spaced out.”

“N-no, I’m fine. Besides, I’m just going to bed.”

It’s already 11:00 pm…. which may be late for bed, but I’m sure that I feel like I can sleep soundly now.

“I see. I would have liked to talk to senpai a little longer if I could have. ……”

Well, well, there’s always tomorrow.”

“……! Oh, right! Tomorrow! We’ll talk again tomorrow!”

“Uh, yeah.”

I was a bit intimidated by Akari-chan’s over-the-top nod, but it wasn’t a wrong response, so I nodded back at her.

And so we went to our respective beds.

I was on the bed, and Akari-chan was on a freshly grated futon on the floor where we had moved the low table. It looks more comfortable than my futon, which is also fluffy but tired.

“If you wanted to stay awake.. We can stay awake for a little longer.”

“No, I’m already sleepy. I didn’t sleep well last night….”

“I see. I’ll turn off the light then.”

I turned off the ceiling light with the remote control.

I can no longer see Akari-chan, but I can clearly hear the sound of her breath, and it makes me feel a little nervous.

“Good night, Akari-chan.”

“Yes, good night!”

Although she was about to go to sleep, Akari-chan’s reply was so energetic that it made me feel funny.

“Um, senpai!”

“Hmm?..”

“See you tomorrow.”

“Yeah, see you tomorrow.”

It was a strange phrase, but the reply came out of my mouth naturally.

Suddenly, behind my eyelids, I saw the classroom I had attended until just six months ago.

I’m about to get ready to leave the empty classroom and leave my seat.

“Senpai?”

The girl’s voice echoes in the classroom, which should have been empty.

I turned around and saw a girl sitting in the seat I had just been in.

She is a beautiful girl who leaves you speechless. She looks so good with the setting sun on her back.

“Are you leaving already?”

She smiles a little sadly.

I nodded back at her. It’s getting dark.

“Then let’s go home together.”

Before I know it, the girl next to me starts walking away, pulling my hand.

We walk through the school building having a casual, not-so-subtle conversation.

Why am I with her? We were already standing in front of the school gate when this question suddenly crossed my mind.

“See you tomorrow, senpai.”

“See you tomorrow” –as I answered back and realised.

This is a dream.

She was the sister of my friend, and we had never been this close.

That’s exactly what I never dreamed of.

What kind of girl Akari-chan is, what kind of things she likes, what kind of topics makes her smile…. I had never seriously thought about such things, because Akari-chan and I were strangers. Maybe there was a possibility to spend time with Akari-chan like this dream.

I don’t know what the hell Subaru is thinking…… I had to get rid of anyone who showed ulterior motives toward Akari.

In such a situation, there was no way I could get close to her, as I had no desire to do so.

I know that….. But

 ─See you tomorrow.

The sound was pleasant and somehow made me feel warm inside.

    ◆◆◆

What should I do…… What should I do?!

The time has finally come!

Surely, probably, without a doubt!

I am more nervous now than I have ever been in my life!

Because my heart is beating so fast, it feels like it’s about to come out of my mouth!

Frantically, I stifle my breath under the covers, curl my body up, and just wait for the time to pass.

I often check the time on my phone, which I clutch with both hands, but I am disappointed each time when I find that only a minute or two has passed.

I can wait for 2 hours to be sure…. No, I can’t wait that long. 1 hour, no, 30 minutes….. is too early.

Be careful, be careful. So I won’t miss it…..

––…

“…..!”

I did a different kind of exhale.

Desperately suppressing the urge to jump up and down, I slowly and noiselessly pull myself out from under the covers.

On my phone, I’ve only been under the covers for 15 minutes. But I’m sure, this is ……!

“Senp~~~mmhmm!”

I was about to call out to him, but I immediately closed my mouth with my hand.

If senpai is already asleep, calling out to him like this might wake him up.

Gently, gently, I raise my body and look into Senpai’s bed.

Ahh, my heart was racing and screaming…

“Fuuu… aaaa…”

I sighed unintentionally.

Senpai is sleeping. Unprotected, with an innocent look on his face…!

(No, don’t dawdle, you gotta do what you must do!)

I pull myself together and stand up.

I’ve been waiting for this moment. I’ve been waiting for senpai to fall asleep and reveal himself unprotected.

Everything … yes!

(I’m gonna take a picture of my Senpai’s sleeping face and set it as the wallpaper of my phone!)

“Umm…”

“Hiuuh!”

The moment I held up my phone, my senior turned his body over. I was startled that I ended up dropping my phone on the futon.

I don’t think he woke up….. It looks like he just twisted around in his sleep.

Watch out, watch out. If he wakes up and finds out that I tried to spy on his sleeping face, I will be branded a pervert and may be kicked out of the school.

My senpai is kind, so he might not do that, but… I’m still doing it.

I carefully picked up my phone, trying not to make even a scraping sound, and was about to hold it up again when I noticed …….

The reason why senpai twisted over was because the light from my phone illuminated the room.

In the first place, if you try to take a picture, the shutter will make a sound!

“Ah, ah…!?”

And if you take a picture, you have to use a flash no matter what.

Light, plus sound. No. This is definitely going to wake up my senpai!

It rattles and crumbles.

My carefully prepared strategy is…… “I set my Senpai’s sleeping face as a wallpaper of my phone and feel like he is sleeping with me every day”!

Here’s the plan. First, treat Senpai to a delicious dinner. After he’s full, he will be sleepy, so he will take a bath slowly and sleep soundly.

And I’ll take a picture of my Senpai’s sleeping face!

The high point is that I can show off my housework skills while chatting with senpai in the intervals between classes, and most importantly, I can give senpai a sense of comfort.

To be honest, I was so happy in this time alone that I almost died, but the only reason I was able to connect my consciousness to the chain was for this moment… no!

Don’t hesitate and try to take a picture!

(Ugh …… I can’t live any longer if Senpai thinks I’m a nasty sleeping face photographer demon…..!)

If I’m going to die, I’d rather die happy. I gave up on photographing his sleeping face…… but!!!!

(Then at least I’ll just burn my Senpai’s sleeping face into my eyes…..!)

The room is dark, but it is lit up by the moonlight coming through the curtains of the window that connects to the balcony.

Now that I’m used to night vision, I can fully enjoy my senior’s sleeping face…… Hehehe. Oh no, I’m drooling.

“………..”

Senpai is sleeping comfortably, without even snoring

He is within reach if I reach out his hand….. But he seems very far away from me.

Motomu Shiragi-senpai. He is one year older than me and a friend of my brother.

We’re not strangers, but we’re so close. I’m not even sure if I can use the word “acquaintance”.

A friend of my brother. A friend’s sister.

I am well aware that this halfway distance is incredibly far and is difficult to shorten.

Right now, this situation is an undeniable miracle and will surely break easily.

That’s why I should cherish this moment. I have to change these things little by little.

Otherwise, I won’t become special to senpai.

(But a little bit of that goes a long way.)

If I only stare at him secretly like this, I surely won’t be punished.

Today was an exciting day.

I barged into my Senpai’s house, cleaned it, shopped with him, and served him home-cooked meals.

We chatted a lot, took the bath that senpai usually take, and now we are spending the same night under one roof.

Until last year …… no, it was a very happy time that I could not believe it until yesterday.

And… It is…

“See you tomorrow……”

─Yes, See you tomorrow.

It’s not just an illusion for today.

I am sure that senpai would not be convinced by such a ridiculous story about a debt.

But… He still accepted it.

Such kindness does not change. Senpai will always remain senpai, so I’m …….

“Good night, senpai.”

I whisper this to him and return to my futon, thinking that my back hair would be pulled.

The futon I had just bought, which I’m not familiar with, was naturally not acclimated to the scent of my senior’s room.

Will this futon get used to it someday? Or will it end its role before that?

When I thought of this, I felt the heat in my body dissipate little by little.

This time is limited and will end one day. At the latest, by the end of summer vacation.

(I’ll do my best. So that I won’t regret it.)

I made up my mind again and closed my eyes.

(Anyway, don’t get carried away! And put up with nosebleeds! I have to make sure people don’t think I’m a weird kid… I’ve been preparing for moments like this my whole life!) 

I understood it just today.

Senpai is not that good at housework!

In other words, I could be helpful to my senpai by appealing to them so that I can do the housework for them ……!

And maybe someday I’ll be able to do it with Senpai…. although that might be a bit of a leap. But…

With these thoughts, I slowly drift off into slumber.

Today, I have such a premonition that I can have the happiest dream ever…



TL notes: Releasing next chapter either on 15/4/2022 or 16/4/2022


Support the author by buying the book here!

Leave a comment