When I Said, “I Want a Beautiful and Rich Girlfriend,” a Girl With Circumstances Showed Up: Chapter 7 – Summer Festival Transition!

**THIS IS NSFW/R18 CONTENT AND MIGHT NOT BE APPROPRIATE FOR YOU**

Before the class that overlapped with Tendou Tsukasa’s choice which is only two in a week, “hey Shino-kun, where do you wanna go this summer?” I got asked so by her who I’m in a temporary engaged-relationship with.

“—I’m not thinking about it.”

“Is that so? As for me, I’d like to have you see me in a swimsuit at the beach or pool, but if you want to, I don’t mind going camping in the mountains or something.”

And then in the end it wasn’t my imagination, that Tendou seemed to be taking it as natural that we would be going out together during the coming summer vacation.

“Nah, I’m not thinking about going somewhere to spend the summer with you.” And so when I clearly corrected that error in the perception, her dainty beautiful face got covered by the cloud of sullenness.

“Why?” Her voice was low, as to be expected as we’re in the classroom with others.

In exchange, her eyes looked very dangerous.

“I mean if we’re going out during the summer vacation, seems like it’s gonna be a stay over, or coming home late…”

“And so why don’t you like that? Come on, at least doing something we don’t normally get to do.”

If I let down my guard like that, it seems like the ending called ‘engagement gifts’ would immediately be lying in wait for me, I guess.

“Besides, it’s not an everyday opportunity to be able to make any summer memories with a girl who has a good face like this, don’t you think?”

And then as usual, her confidence towards her extremely above standard face was immense.

“But seems like things that can’t be undone will happen, so no thanks…”

“Why! Even you’d find it better to go together with a cute girl if you’re gonna go out somewhere anyway, right!? I’ll even wear a swimsuit of your liking!” Tendou shouted in a whisper, maybe finally unable to hold it anymore.

I’ve thought hard about it, but she sure is shrewd.

“Well, it’s not like I’ve gotta rely on you. Setting aside the swimsuit, if I go lower my head even I could find a girl who would go with me… probably… definitely……”

Would I be able to somehow if I prostrate on the ground…?

Nah, it’s impossible for me who can’t even declare I got a female friend.

There’s the last resort of begging my little sister for help, but seems like I’d get scolded (despair).

“Is there a choice in you to indulge in my kindness rather than fretting and making such a sorrowful face…?

“Only if it really is just kindness, that is.”

Don’t forget the Tanabata that dumped me with horror experience, alright?

“And also, leaving me your fiancée alone, and going out with another girl is just plain strange, right? Did you forget about what you yourself said before about making light of something etc.?”

“T-that’s just a metaphor.”

And I would appreciate it if you stop speaking in a voice so scary that it surpasses that.

I also don’t think I have any reason to be criticized by Tendou who got unusual sexual experience, but after getting engaged, she has stopped playing around with men, exactly as she’s said.

And I also don’t think it’s fair to pull up something from the past there.

Although feelings-wise I’m an acting assistant stand-in apprentice candidate fiancé, my engagement with Tendou is official, so if I do anything careless, it wouldn’t be weird even if it gets brought to a civil court for a breach of contract.

“Huh? Then there’s a possibility that I’d have to live a gray dull youth while I’m engaged to you…?”

“I wonder why you’re so stubbornly refusing to go out with me… We’ve been on several dates already, aren’t we?”

Because it’s bad to give any strange expectation about the future as long as I haven’t changed my mind, alright?

I wonder if I should also tell her this.

No, can I just handle it more businesslike in the first place…?

“Geez—if you’re so concerned about the time you return home, how about going to the shopping district festival near my home for now? It’s famous for the high quality food stalls since there are lots of restaurants, and it ends at nine at night. Moreover, if it’s now it comes bundled with me in a yukata.”

When I was troubled with my reply, a specific new proposal came up. It’s a considerable compromise, but at any rate, she sure is coming assertively at me today.

I wonder if Tendou also wants to have summer memories after all.

“Say, isn’t there a love hotel just around the corner there?”

“There is none! …Yup, none.”

Thank god, it wasn’t the Tendou who would know all the locations of all love hotels within her homerange.

However, a total lack of contact during summer would also be unreasonable, and it’s probably gonna look unnatural to Tendou’s family.

I suppose I should compromise around here.

“All right, so long we’re all disbanded by nine at night, then sure.”

“You sound like a high schooler worrying about curfew…”

“I mean, it’s gonna be troubling if I get dragged into the dark place or something…”

“Like I’ve  said, that concern is usually the reverse in man and woman, right!?”

Welp, so it panned out that way.

§

And then on the day of the festival, “ooh…” an involuntary gasp of admiration rushed out of my throat at the sight of Tendou standing at the rendezvous point.

On Tanabata night she was in casual clothes in the end because of circumstances or something, so this is the first time I’ve seen her in a yukata.

“Ooooh…”

The white yukata was refreshingly painted with light blue ripples and goldfish, and the vibrant red obi gives off a bit of a striking and crumpled impression.

Ohoh? This is probably a tailfin image1, isn’t it? (noncommittal).

The hair that’s much curlier than usual was pulled and casually tied into one in a low position on the back of her head, creating a just right casualness.

On her right hand is a tall, sturdy-looking traditional fan made of bamboo frame affixed with cloth, and on her left hand is a drawstring purse tossed into a knitted basket-like bag.

Her feet are, of course, in geta. It’s the practical kind where the soles aren’t very thick, and the strap is a warm-color temari pattern. The pedicure on her feet is also spot-on.

“Shino-kun, your impression?” Asked by Tendou, I looked from head to toe, and then once more from the bottom to the top.

How should I say this, she’s like the perfect example of ‘the lover in yukata you want to go to the festival with.’

“You’re very cute, it’s like it’s not you, Tsukasa-san.”

“Excuse me?”

“It’s kinda nice, very nice…”

“Well it seems I’m being complimented so it’s fine, though… By the way, I see you’re not in yukata, Shino-kun.”

“Ah, yeah.”

In this case, it makes me feel a little bad that I came in here in a complete, casual style of t-shirt, jeans, sneakers.

My thinking of not getting too enthusiastic backfired.

“Well, I don’t have a yukata in the first place.”

“How about making it? It might even be fun for a guy to try wearing it once in a while, you know?”

“Nah, I’m still in my growing period so it’s gonna be a waste if I can’t wear it anymore.”

Also, I strongly feel the echoes of the rich in the way that it wasn’t ‘how about buying it?’

“Don’t you lie, you’re already not at an age where you can grow any taller, right?”

However, Tendou sure is subtly excited. Me too, though.

This is also due to the festival music, and the enthusiasm of the people increasingly appearing here and there in the now car-free shopping district.

“Weh…”

Still, this yukata sure is somewhat highly destructive…

“See? it turned into a good summer memory, didn’t it?”

“Yeah.”

“—Somehow when you’re honestly pleased with me like this, it’s just making me feel uneasy.”

That’s sad.

But well, in actuality Tendou is so beautiful that I can understand even the triumphant look on her, and given the situation, now I’m feeling that it’s not even an overstatement to say that a guy who can go to a festival with a girl in yukata is the real winner.

That means have I also finally become a winner of life today…?

“And so Shino-kun, is there anything in mind you wanna eat? Starting half past six, there’s also dancing and other programs on the stage at the entrance on the other side of the street, though.”

“Nnnn, I must say I’m not really interested in that kinda thing. I figured we could just walk around and pick up things that catch our attention.”

“Let’s do that then.”

“Ah, do you mind if I take a shot of you in yukata before that?”

“Sure, but if it’s only from the neck down or something, I’m gonna get mad, okay?”

“You’re so untrusted huh, me…”

“How about trying looking back at your own usual act for a bit?”

Despite her sharp tongue, Tendou posed with a perfect smile when I pointed my phone at her. Hmmm, this feeling of knowing how to present herself, it’s very peculiar to beautes, I say.

“I’m pissed.”

“With what even! Just now there was nothing to get mad about, was there!?”

“Sorry, it just happened.”

But I never knew I got such weakness for a girl in yukata.

Hmm, I think I’ll use this as a home screen…

“Hey Shino-kun, why’re you looking at the picture more enthusiastically than at me?”

“Well, I just thought dropping down about one dimension is just right.”

“That really is unpleasant…”

“—Starting from now, we will hold the Saturday Night Market in Kawabata Shopping Arcade—”

As Tendou raised her brows, the speakers announced the opening of the event.

Cheers and applause were sparse, but I felt like the apparent temperature rose all at once.

“Well then, shall we go? The queues will grow everywhere if we don’t hurry.”

“Yeah. Ah, Tsukasa-san, I’ll hold the bag.”

“Thanks, then can you also hold my left hand while at it? We wouldn’t want to get separated after all.”

“—Well, I guess so. There’s this crowd as well.”

Switching the bag that’s heavier than I thought to my left, I wiped my right hand with the bottom of my jeans, just in case, before grabbing Tendou’s hand.

The slender hand of hers, who showed a slight subtle expression, was a little hotter than ever.

§

“—This so good.” Picking up two or three foods for starters, we decided to fill up our belly at the end of the street.

Only today there’s also no ‘that’s bad manners’ scolding from Tendou.

The beef steak skewers in front of the yakiniku restaurant were thick and very filling.

The simple salt and pepper seasoning, and the oozing juices and fat make it an irresistible delicacy for sweaty bodies on a summer evening. Hmmm, it makes me want white rice.

The price was okay, but well, I suppose you shouldn’t be saying boorish things in a place like this.

“—Hey Shino-kun, I certainly asked whether you’ve got anything in mind, but why suddenly things like takoyaki and yakisoba?” However, the Miss Fiancée in yukaya holding a takoyaki container was exuding a slight hint of discontent.

Even though it’s Tendou who suggested sharing with mine since she said one person portion is too much for her.

“Eeh, isn’t that the standard?”

“Just look at my yukata. You’re not trying to be mean, are you?”

Certainly a white yukata seems like it would stand out so much if it gets stained, but in the first place at a festival, isn’t the risk level pretty much the same regardless due to eating and walking around?

“No, I’m not. I was hungry, and I just chose what I wanted to eat.”

“It’s fine if that’s the case, though…”

“Well, I kinda thought it’s gonna be funny if you get some dried seaweed stuck on your teeth, though.”

“Excuse me!?” Whoop, pushing the takoyaki to me, Tendou took out a mirror from the bag.

Hmmm, even the manner she’s checking her teeth is naturally elegant. That’s a natural high-class young lady for you.

If it’s me I would bare my gums as hard as I could like a chimpanzee, though.

“Whoah.”

“Ouch.”

And then immediately after, I felt a slight bump on my shoulder. In the moment of trying to take a peek at Tendou, it seems I ended up bumping into someone.

“Apologies.”

“I’m sorr—wait huh, it’s you, Shino. You came?”

“Huh, it’s you, Ogura. Hey yo.”

We raised our lowered heads at right about the same time, and there I saw a familiar face.

Ogura Kana, a very sporty girl with tanned skin and short hair, was a high school classmate. She’s an active type who has always had a noticeable tan since those days despite being in the basketball club, and our relationship is that although we’re in different college departments, we would at least make small talk whenever we see each other.

The girls accompanying her also got short-cut hairstyles, so maybe they’re circle friends.

“Come to think of it, I remember you saying your grandfather’s house was around here.”

“Yup, and so what’s happening here, Shino? Don’t tell me you, a man, are coming to a festival alone? What a lonely guy.”

As I was about to tell ‘you’re wrong’ to Ogura, who was laughing a little meanly as if she’d found something funny, a rigid voice I’ve never heard before was coming from my side. “Good evening, Ogura-san. Excuse me, but Shino-kun is on a date with me today.”

“…Ooh, so you’re with Tendou, heh.”

I could already tell at this moment that they’re acquaintances, but I understood in my heart, not my head, that these two’s relationship isn’t at all friendly.

It’s clear to see from Ogura’s blatant attitude, but the eyes of the girls accompanying her are also a bit sour.

Welp, no doubt it’s gotta be about Tendou’s involvement with men in the past.

My god, this takoyaki is so yummy! (running away) – please quit this now (true thought).

“Say, Tendou, whenever I see you you’re always with a different guy, aren’t you? Today it’s Shino?”

“Yes, did you come here with your friends, Ogura-san? It’s also cosy to be with girls only, it’s nice, isn’t it?

“—What? What’re you trying to say?”

“Oh my, I didn’t really mean anything else, though. I’m sorry if I offended you.”

But then again, they’re both strong-willed. A crash is inevitable, I say.

And then as I finished my takoyaki and moved on to my yakisoba, I was met with a cold stare from Ogura’s friends. Well y’know, you think I can do something about this?

Even if I were to mediate them, wouldn’t it just spread the fire like, ‘Why are you taking that side!?’

And as for the result of the close investigation concerning Tendou’s sneer in response to Ogura’s snide remark, it seems the problem is that in the past Tendou slept with a guy named Matsuoka-paisen of the basketball circle who Ogura used to be in love with, but Tendou said she later learned that that was him having an affair, and in the first place he was dating the manager, his classmate, so it’s barking up the wrong tree.

I see, so there’s a couple of good-for-nothing characters in the story!

“But this is so unusual, I thought you’re not aiming for someone like Shino, you know? What kind of change of heart have you got after dragging around nothing but good-looking guys?”

Can I have you stop dissing my look with stray bullets?

But well you know, it’s not like I’m trying to make a brazen claim that I’m good-looking or something.

“Oh, Shino-kun has a lot of great points, you know? If you’re thinking he’s a dull man, that’s perfectly fine with me as well.”

“Huh? It’s not like I’m saying things like that, though?”

Hmmm, it’s an outbreak of a catastrophically super strong-willed women’s great war. Ogura’s accompanying girls and the others are already completely pulling away as well.

And then Ogura being Ogura, she’s sending glances at me, but even if I don’t know the details, the fact that Tendou was sleeping with someone in the past is not surprising at this late in the game. Sorry I’m not living to your expectations.

“And you know, Ogura-san. He’s going out with me while knowing everything, so there’s no need for your unnecessary concern, you know?”

I’m your fiancé, though, and we’re not going out. I wanted to complain about that truth alone.

…This situation between the two of them, it sure seems like a bitter assertion if I say so myself. And Tendou is wearing a yukata and very fired up as well.

“Oh, I see… Buttering up to guys is your forte after all. So did you also seduce Shino? Well done!”

“Right, I mean look, I have a good face, so I guess I get fawned over by guys without even realizing it—but Shino-kun is the kind who also looks at what’s inside, though.”

Excuse me, ladies, I wonder if you can stop using someone as a material to one up each other and as a beating stick?

Of course I don’t wanna get dissed, but getting excessively praised also makes me antsy.

“Well, maybe it wasn’t amusing to you, who’s always into taken guys and even approaches a guy on a date. I’m so sorry if I’m offending you.”

“You!! Try saying it again!”

As I was thinking, ‘how long is this hell gonna last?’ Ogura roughened her voice at Tendou’s over-the-line remark. She’s reaching for the tea bottle she’s holding.

Ah, that’s not good.

Hurriedly I pulled Tendou’s hand, and broke in between them with my back to Ogura.

Immediately after, splash, the sound of water arose at my back.

“Kya!”

“Ah!?”

“—Yikes.”

The voices, each of them different from one another.

The sensation of my t-shirt sticking to my back and the tea soaking all the way to my underwear is pretty gross.

You sure have given a grandiose splash.

But fortunately, Tendou in my arms looks to be safe, and the expensive-looking yukata has been protected. If it had been dirtied, it probably would’ve been very disastrous for either of them.

“Hey Kana, stop it!”

“That’s going too far! I’m sorry Shino-kun, Tendou-san.”

“What? I-is it my fault now!?”

You’re damn right (jumping on the bandwagon). Yeah well, I believe both are at fault, though.

There’s a bit of an empty area on the street already with people surrounding us at a distance. If they keep on quarreling any longer, the organizer would surely be reported and everyone would be mad.

When I released Tendou from my hug while thinking ‘It sure is helping that Ogura’s company has cooled off,’ her fair face was turning red with anger.

“Ogura-san, you’re so—!”

No good, this one isn’t calm at all.

The one splashed by the tea was me anyway, so she doesn’t have to get so angry.

“It’s fine Tsukasa-san, you’re provoking her on purpose, aren’t you? You were saying too much, and of course it’s gonna turn out like this.”

“But…!”

“Shino, why were you protecting a slut like—”

“Ogura.”

Somehow I heard several whimpers.

I wonder if my voice was a bit too harsh, but I just can’t stay silent at the word just now.

“Don’t mind about the tea, I was the one who arbitrarily took it upon myself anyway. I also understand that you have something to say to Tsukasa-san. But don’t call her that in front of me.”

“—Why.” The word spoken by Ogura, who looked like she’d been punched, wasn’t likely to elicit a satisfactory answer.

Regardless if that’s an undeniable fact, I don’t think it’s right for anyone to be insulted and called a slut in public, but it probably wouldn’t get through to her as she is hostile to Tendou from the very beginning.

“Coming here to have fun here and then quarreling is also boring, right? She’s certainly saying things too far, but since you’re trying to pour tea, let’s just call that even.”

After lowering my head to the surrounding people, saying sorry for causing commotion, the flow of people immediately began to normalize.

“Tsukasa-san, let’s go.”

“—Okay.”

I pulled the hand of Tendou, who’s now awfully quiet, and left the scene. When I looked back for one last time, Ogura was clenching her fists, still looking as if she still wanted to say something.

§

“—I’m sorry.”

And then upon entering the side road of the shopping district, Tendou, who had been led by the hand, spoke up.

It was a truly dejected voice that almost got me to burst into laughter.

“It’s fine, really. You don’t have to apologize, Tsukasa-san.”

Even I’ve got people I don’t get along with, and although there’s an aspect of her paying for her own mistakes, I suppose she in particular has many of those people.

“Well, you’re being so belligerent from the start was a little unexpected, but what happened?”

“I don’t mean to make excuses, but… usually she’s also not that blatant, so it just got ticked.”

She, who looked apologetic, didn’t seem to lie. Rather, if it was handled in that fashion on a regular basis, there would’ve been a knife fight in campus already.

I wonder if she’s also got splashed with water when enjoying a festival.

And it’s not like I’ve got a lot of damage anyway. Well, let’s just forget the trivial stuff.

“Although it’s with me, you’ve just got triumphant from being accompanied by a man after all. I was watching and thinking if it’s better not to interrupt poorly, but I should’ve stopped it sooner, shouldn’t I? Sorry.”

“No, that’s exactly something you shouldn’t apologize about. It’s our problem after all.”

Ogura as well, she seems to be the laid-back type usually, but in reality she seems highly emotional.

Welp, it’s no doubt that there’s also problem in Tendou’s past conduct, though.

“But I think it’s not ‘although it’s you,’ but ‘because it’s you,’ though.”

“Eh, why?”

I’ve also got subtly dissed by Ogura, but I’m not a good-looking guy you’d be jealous of here.

“—I mean, if someone you consider close to you seems to be close with someone you hate, it wouldn’t be amusing, right?”

“Aah, that direction, huh.”

It’s that ‘don’t get close to 〇〇-chan’ thing, huh. Is she an elementary schooler?

But in that case, things were already set here for them to quarrel no matter what, is that right!?  Alright, it’s not my fault either. It’s a problem on fate’s end who made them meet here.

“Anyway Tsukasa-san, you’ve got a towel? I just feel kinda gross.”

“Nn, I have. I’ll wipe it off for you, so turn your back here.”

Although I tried wiping it with a handkerchief once on the way, the extent was too wide so it was not finished.

“Then please.”

When I turned my back to take up on her offer, suddenly my shirt got rolled up, and I got wiped directly, and I went, “Uwaah.”

“I’m really sorry, Shino-kun.”

“I’ve told you it’s fine, besides I’ve also thought it’s not bad to have a girl splash water on me for once in my life.”

Kinda lady-killer-ish, eh? If anything, it’s no-good man, huh.

“—The heck? If you had told me, I would’ve done it for you with all my heart anytime.”

My shirt got rolled down, and when I turned around to her saying, “It’s done,” Tendou was back to her usual confident-look on her face. Also, I was somewhat relieved.

Coming to a long-awaited festival, only to get into a quarrel, get dispirited, and then go home is just terrible.

“It sure is scary that my face might get splashed. Also, probably giving a slap suits you better, Tsukasa-san.”

At my escaped loose lip, I felt Tendou’s eyes light up.

“Oh, is that so?”

On the neck of the yes-man me, her arms suddenly wrapped around it, and my head got pulled down lower.

I thought ‘eh, am I gonna get hit now?’ and in the next moment, something soft touched my lips.

“⸻!?”

Point-blank-range fair skin and downcast eyes, the heat of Tendou pressing her body against mine, and something soft nuzzling against my lips seared the fact that we’re kissing vividly into my brain.

“—As for me, I think this one suits me better, though?” Then she separated from me, only to look bashful like a little girl.

A little kid at the edge of my vision, who seemed to have witnessed it by chance from the street, was covering the mouth with outstretched hands like a child actor in western movies.

—Afterwards, there should’ve been something or other happening until we disbanded at nine, but my memory was awfully fuzzy, except for the fact that my first kiss was faintly sauce-flavored.



TL notes:

^1. Looking like this I suppose:

There were some things I was lazy to add, for example, temari pattern, geta, and I forgot what else. Anyway google is your friend.


Support the author by buying the book here!

5 thoughts on “When I Said, “I Want a Beautiful and Rich Girlfriend,” a Girl With Circumstances Showed Up: Chapter 7 – Summer Festival Transition!

  1. Man, this series had potential – we are hitting the high point now. I wish things kept moving forward in the same vein.

    Like

Leave a comment