When I Said, “I Want a Beautiful and Rich Girlfriend,” a Girl With Circumstances Showed Up: Chapter 10 – Tendou Tsukasa Was My Fiancée

**THIS IS NSFW/R18 CONTENT AND MIGHT NOT BE APPROPRIATE FOR YOU**

Tendou house is the so-called landowner family lineage, was originally a merchant family in Hakata that rose during the Edo period, did well during the Meiji period and expanded its business, were able to ride out the postwar disorder in comfort, and nowadays apparently has become so rich that they own several multi-story buildings in the center of the city.

By the way, the impressive mansion that I thought looked like a samurai residence is simply old, impressive, and traditional, and doesn’t have anything to do with samurai, apparently.

Well, no matter the details, the people in Tendou house originally should have been a resident of an alien world for Shino Iori, a person born into the common people from the very beginning.

Until I got engaged to a girl named Tendou Tsukasa thanks to the connection from my grandfather’s era that is.

The approach to break off the engagement which I’d been told through my father the day after the pool date is probably not by her own will.

I certainly do have my suspicions that I may have slightly hurt her feelings by refusing the night invitation, but it doesn’t seem like that would be enough for Tendou to request to break off the engagement, and above all, her grandmother shouldn’t allow it.

If that’s the case, the cause is first of all due to the fact that Tendou’s behavior has become known to her family, and the reason why I can’t contact her is that, even if there’s no death, she could have her phone taken away from her, be thrown into a confinement room for criminals or lunatics or something. I wonder if they have such a room.

I’m certainly the one who, first of all, couldn’t accept Tendou’s sexual experience and considered breaking off the engagement, got completely swayed during the grace period before giving my refusal, and for all that, is now a wuss who chickened out when it came to going to stay the night the other day.

While that may be true, I can’t just sit back and let them do whatever they please, dictating someone’s life that goes like, ‘you want a girlfriend? Very well, in that case feel free to take my grandchild as your wife. I’m sure you’ll be very pleased with her’ and ‘ah, she had bad behavior, so let’s consider this never happens.’

—In the first place, I’m the concerned party in this engagement, so this is my legitimate right.

I, who had been telling myself (it’s just like that even if it’s a fact, though) that and marched into Tendou’s house to have a direct talk, was walking down a corridor facing the garden while going “waoh~” at that mansion that’s so splendid as ever that it’s astonishing.

A glass door separates it from the outside, where an authentic Japanese-style garden has been built, and the floor bathed in dazzling sunlight pouring in from the outside is getting hot, but the air conditioning is on.

“This way, please. Madam, I have brought Shino-sama to see you,” A middle-aged lady, who seems to be a maid, had guided me, stopped in front of a room and went to kneel down.

From beyond the traditional Japanese sliding door with a glass window behind the sliding bottom half, “please, come in,” came a calm reply.

I stepped into the room and bowed in my own way since I don’t know the etiquette, while experiencing something that you can’t really get in an ordinary household: having an older person open the door for you.

“Excuse me.”

At the center of the about 19 m² Japanese-style room, there’s a shiny-black, profound wooden low table, and a white-haired woman in a plain, but expensive-looking white kimono waiting.

“Iori-san, I am terribly sorry for the trouble of having you visit on this occasion.”

The white-haired woman, Tendou Tsukasa’s grandmother—Tendou Chitose-san with graceful gestures turned towards me and deeply bowed her head.

It was a courteous, but nevertheless, exactly a strong preemptive attack for me, a youngster.

“Ah, no, umm, I’m also to blame for barging in on you at such short notice.”

“No, it is originally something I should have come to you to explain, and I apologize for my rudeness.”

“N-no, not at all, that’s, don’t mention it…”

I’ve got vigor in saying this and that, but in the end the burden in dealing with a wealthy senior is just heavy for me, a mere student. And even more so if the person comes out politely.

I reservedly took a seat as urged, and by the time I reached out my hand for the expensive-looking teacup with my trembling hands and sipped the tasteless-due-to-nervousness tea, my tempo had already been completely taken control.

“—First of all, I would like to state clearly that the reason I have taken the liberty of requesting the annulment of the engagement is entirely due to my grandchild’s behavior. At no point it is your fault, Iori-san.”

“Ah, yes.”

“As you may already know, Iori-san, as a member of the Tendou house, I cannot send such a licentious girl to be wed to others.”

“Uh, yes.”

“Moreover, she was so shameless as to cry and beg to you in order to protect herself, and then try to advance the engagement while keeping her own past deeds in the vague.”

“Ah, well, I suppose so.”

“Moreover at this point in time, she even fought back, saying that there was no problem since the love is now mutual; it is the utmost pathetic. And I regret that as a grandmother, I have not been good enough.”

“Huh, that is, indeed…”

I do think it would be the end of the line if she said that, but well, Tendou certainly has that kind of thing going for her, doesn’t she… I’m sure she absolutely was questioned, and then said it as it was.

“As such, I apologize for the inconvenience, but would you please consider the matter with Tsukasa as it had never occurred? Of course, I will be doing everything possible to ensure that you do not suffer any further losses as a result of this matter, Iori-san.”

“Err…”

Huh? Isn’t this talk over already?

Overall, I totally get it, and it just sounded so right; there’s not even a gap to interject here.

I see, this is how Tendou felt when she complained about me giving logical harassment, huh…

It sure is ironic that I can understand Tendou’s feelings now, thanks to Tendou.

“Umm, I do think what you are saying is fair, but…”

“Of course, this alone may not be enough to convince you. I would have her apologize in person, but she has yet to show any signs of remorse… This might be piling shame on top of shame, but I would like to ask for a little bit more time.”

“No, that apology is not necessary. It’s just, I think that, prior to this, she had her own peculiar conflict, however…”

“Thank you very much for your kind words. Certainly, engagement driven by the house may not be in keeping with the times, and I also understand Tsukasa’s inner discontent. However, to be outwardly obedient while secretly immersing herself in self-indulgent pleasures is a betrayal to all involved. I would not be doing any favors for my grandchild if I were not to speak sternly here.”

“Ah yes, that is so, isn’t it.”

Checkmated.

Well, to have your parents arbitrarily decide your fiancée is certainly up for debate, but it’s also true that it’s another issue when it comes to whether or not that it’s then okay to do anything in the back

Once I recognized that it’s absolutely impossible to flip the narrative anymore from here on, the memories of these past several months with Tendou were coming back like a revolving lantern.

Looking back, she was smiling a lot in my memory. Although I was greatly moved by that, I also kinda ended up thinking, ‘whatchu smilin about in this situation right now.’

“—I understand, it is fine with me to wipe clean my engagement with Tsukasa-san.”

“I am very sorry, but would you not mind doing so?”

“Yes. Both my father and grandfather have also told me it’s only if I could agree to what would be said—well, in the first place, there’s also some misunderstanding between me and my father judging from how this came to be.”

It was originally an engagement decided like an accident, caused by my unpopularness and my father’s pushiness. It’s not something to regret just because it’s canceled.

In the first place, I didn’t come here today for such a life-support plan with no prospect of success.

There’s another issue I really need to do, an issue I have to take care of.

“There’s just, one thing. Since this time it has turned out this way, how about no longer trying to tie both families with your past with my grandfather as the reason?”

I said it. I DID say it. Now there’s no longer turning back here; I wanna go home.

I’m already feeling the air getting heavier to the point where it’s kinda hard to sit face to face.

Even so, I really couldn’t just leave while ignoring this one matter that has swung around my, and more importantly Tendou Tsukasa’s life.

“—For someone still young, it may be rather hard to understand, but the favor I have received from your grandfather is enormous. It is a matter in which the honor of the Tendou house is at stake. For the fact that Tsukasa has caused trouble, I cannot simply say ‘yes, I understand’.”

Although Chitose-san’s voice wasn’t so harsh the wind would go, fwoosh, I could feel the pressure in her voice.

I see, so this is why Tendou is so afraid of her grandmother, and I could understand not through logic, but emotion.

And then after another observation, I found a lot of similarities in her facial features with her grandchild, Tendou Tsukasa.

In particular those slightly slanted eyes, and the powerful will of light that can even seem daring dwelling in them.

Her body is small and thin, but her posture is good; even in her old age with her hair having turned white and wrinkles carved on her face, she’s a person still exuding beauty.

She must’ve been a beauty in her youth for sure. It’s no surprise my grandfather would propose for a marriage, I guess.

“—Regardless of the misfortune of your grandchild going astray in desperation because of it, is it?”

“I believe that the problem with Tsukasa is a matter of her own nature. I suppose you can’t really call it misfortune.”

“But, isn’t it true that it was the existence of a financé that has cornered her?”

“Ryou was in the same position and is living an upright life. Actually, I hear that in the past you yourself have been remonstrated for calling Tsukasa imprudent, however.”

Yes, and to be honest, I still feel the same way.

If anything, the more I’m listening, the more that thought is being reinforced, isn’t it. I wonder why in the world I’m doing such an extremely futile thing as defending Tendou. No, not yet.

“I also think that there must have been other ways. But Tsukasa-san was terrified that she might die if she ever angered her grandmother. Well, that might be an exaggeration, but it’s the truth she felt that much pressure. Could a person who has been cornered to that point really make an upright judgment?”

“…That, may indeed have been an issue on my part as well. Tsukasa just always has had a bad habit of being selfish because of her appearance, and each time I had to give her a stern scolding after all.”

Wouldn’t getting scolded be a no-brainer then? Just why is Tendou shooting people in the back like this?

If continuing the engagement is impossible, then arranging the conversation while appealing to the emotions is also a failure.

I’ve imagined and prepared for it, but this is going the way where I feel my helplessness acutely. Had this been a battle to get Tendou back, I surely would’ve been despaired by now.

“So, umm, why didn’t you tell her about her fiancé’s details? Whether it’s me, or my older brother who has rejected it, it’s very far apart from the pessimistic image she had of her partner. If she had known, it would’ve been, umm, different, I believe.”

In my case, my father’s thought was so that I wouldn’t be unpopular, but from the side of Tendou house, there doesn’t seem to be much reason to conceal information about her fiancé.

“—Indeed, perhaps I should have let Tsukasa know as she had a strong wrong impression.”

Well, if Tendou had known that we brothers were her fiancé candidates, however, I might also have been fatally wounded from being compared to my older brother and given a face that’s like saying, ‘this one, huh.’

Even though it’s painful enough that it makes me wanna cry just from imagining it a bit, even that should not be a disadvantage from the side of Tendou house.

“However my daughter, Tsukasa’s mother who had interactions with your father since early childhood wasn’t chosen. Of course I don’t begrudge any of that, but it is also true that that girl who had completely intended to get married to him was terribly depressed at that time. Reflecting on that, we had decided not to discuss the details with my grandchildren until after the engagement was desired by your side.”

“Ah, eh, is that so?”

“Yes. Of course I’d also told my daughter that in the end it was only if the other side desired it, but even so, if the person she had been holding feelings for since childhood did not choose her, there would still be a pain in the heart.”

“That’s… how should I say this, I can sympathize.”

This was unneeded concern for me as someone unpopular, but my older brother actually got himself a girlfriend, so I suppose it isn’t a wrong policy.

But so to speak, a father who kept silent about dumping his own childhood friend fiancée!!

I’ve been thinking that I was causing Tendou inconvenience because of my unpopularness until now, but isn’t this in the first place all becoming complicated because of what’s happening in the time with our parents?

Well yeah, if both the mother and daughter were given the cold shoulder, it would also relieve the trauma of the mother, and the pride as a woman would simply get hurt; I also understand that it’s a thoughtful judgment for the Tendou house.

But I totally would’ve loved it for my father to at least explain everything up to that point!!

There have been too many people shooting me in the back since some time ago. I’ve got no ally, huh…

“—How-however, isn’t that still exactly what illustrates the problem in this matter? Didn’t both Tsukasa-san, and her mother, have to take on unnecessary hardships by having their lives dictated around by the engagement matter?”

“No, that is incorrect. It is not unnecessary, it is par for the course, Iori-san. If I hadn’t been saved by your grandfather, I would not be here today, neither would the house. Having been born into the house of Tendou, then it is our natural duty to return that favor we have once received, you know?”

It was a calm, and yet resolute declaration.

I suppose Chitose-san is not just another heartless, descendant engagement machine.

However, the inability to fulfill a past promise, and the fact that it still hasn’t been fulfilled, is making this person obstinate.

In that sense, perhaps she is just another tragic victim who was unable to choose her partner of her own will.

Good grief, it’s a complicated, back-breaking story for me.

“—I understand, I also understand your dislike of not being able to fulfill your promise.”

“I am happy to hear that you could understand.”

That said, from the very start, I have never thought I could do anything with my words alone to move someone older than myself. I don’t have that much faith in my intelligence.

The important thing was the understanding of the details, situation, and above all, the pledge.

The duty one must fulfill as a person born in the house of Tendou.

And naturally, Chitose-san herself should be no exception to what she has said.

“—So this time, I have come up with my own basic solution. If anyone from the house of Tendou is to be married to a man from Shino, there is one who is now single, having been predeceased by his wife five years ago. He is called Shouzou.” I offered my phone, which I’d secretly put in call while I was talking, on the table. “Here you go.”

“⸻”

Without uttering any words, Chitose-san was looking alternatingly at my face and at the phone as if it’s something she’s seen for the first time.

My grandfather didn’t participate in the first meeting between me and Tendou, saying he wouldn’t poke his nose into his grandchild’s issue.

It was a bit mysterious, but this reaction of Chitose-san was probably the reason.

“As you may have known, it is my grandfather. By all means, please have a talk between you two.”

On my second urge, her trembling hand finally reached for the phone.

Tendou’s grandfather seemed to be much older than Chitose-san, and I have heard he passed away before Tendou was in elementary school. More than ten years should be sufficient for a mourning period.

Then this would certainly become a more immediate way for Chitose-san to return the favor, rather than having to restart this matter with me and the second daughter Ryou-san, or to further drag out this matter to the great-grandchildren’s generation.

It’s gonna be hard to refuse anyway, and she should at least be willing to listen.

“Hello—” It was a calm voice. “Yes, yes, it has been a while…” At the same time, it was a voice filled with an unfathomable great emotion.

To be honest, to the point I’m feeling bad for listening from the side.

So, while they’re talking, I decided to enjoy having a cup of tea of I’ve left alone.

“…Please spare me the jokes, I’m completely a grandmother now.”

Gosh, this yokan1 is so good. The tea is also aromatic. That’s a loaded family for you (escaping).

No, for real, it’s so awkward it’s kinda painful to listen to. And above all, my grandfather’s also amazing; like, judging from her reactions, he seems to be saying something sweeter than the yokan.

How come my father, older brother, and now my grandfather, except me, are not awkward around women…

“Yes⸻then in the near future, yes, yes… yes, until then.”

Chitose-san sighed quietly, after what seemed like a long but short phone call.

Even though I could reason my way through things, I felt that it was filled with feelings accumulated for months and years, that I, a mere youngster, would not be able to truly understand or sympathize with.

“—From the start, is this what you’ve been aiming for? Iori-kun.”

It was a somewhat softer voice, with a human touch different from the one up until earlier.

The wry smile, seeming both astonished and impressed, reminded me of a girl I know of very well.

I noticed the sophisticated lingering smell from the phone I’ve received, and I somehow ended up feeling guilty towards both Tendou and my grandfather.

“Yes, I suppose. If it all started with my grandfather, I just thought it might be the right thing to have the matter settled among the two of you.”

“You young people sure can come up with some great things, like dragging out your grandfather.”

“I was desperate as well, so, well, there you go.”

Honestly speaking, I can’t even imagine what people with grandchildren think of each other.

However, even if that ends up being a friend-like relationship, it should be much more healthy than trying to unite us, who originally had nothing to do with each other. Just that.

Well, when I’m given a look that says ‘I haven’t thought of that idea,’ it makes me wanna make a smug face, though.

“—And so, it was not just out of kindness that you have suggested a way to repay the favor, was it? What could you be wishing for, Iori-san?”

I thought my inner feelings were completely showing on my face, but I didn’t get especially confronted, thanks to that so-called adult composure there.

I’m glad the talk went off without a hitch.

So here finally for sure, I can broach the subject I wanted to say the most.

“—Could you please not scold Tsukasa-san too much for everything done so far?”

“Oh my—”

My ex-fiancée, who was pushed around because of family circumstances, is notorious for heavily boasting about being a beauty, rich, and having good figure, but has innumerable cute sides.

I probably would not have had a connection with her if it weren’t such a thing, but she’s an outrageous girl who has slept with nearly triple digits men simply because of such a thing.

To be honest, I still think she’s an idiot, I also don’t really know how much the person in question is or isn’t regretting it, but it must be harsh to be condemned by her family for that.

“And, please, if possible, respect her freedom from now on.”

Even though I’m a pathetic fellow who ignored the invitation to stay the night and couldn’t even stop the annulment of the engagement, I wanted to do at least this much for the girl I fell in love with.

“Understood, you have my promise. Iori-san, you are truly thinking of my grandchild—will you be going to meet Tsukasa?”

“No, I do have an interest in the confinement room, but I will leave for today with this.”

“I see… Confinement room?”

Since she tilted her head, regrettably there doesn’t seem to be any confinement room.

Well, we’re no longer engaged, and I also don’t know what to do if in this situation I get told ‘you two young people can take your time,’ and to be honest, it’s also troubling to have the matter at the pool day get brought up.

Well, Tendou will probably just call me if I she needs anything.

We will also see each other at college once summer vacation ends anyway. And we can have a talk any time.

“Thank you so much for the yokan. The tea was also great.”

“I’m afraid it’s not any hospitality—are you really sure you don’t want to go meet Tsukasa?”

“Yes, we can also meet at college. I apologize for barging in so suddenly today.”

“I see, please feel free to visit again anytime.”

“Yes.”

Having said that, I think that maybe there won’t be an opportunity for that.

Chitose-san seemed to want to say a few more things, but I once again said my thanks for the yokan and left the room with a pretty refreshed feeling.

When I returned to the corridor from which I’d come with the maid’s guidance, Tendou’s mother was waiting at the front door looking reserved.

With the sense of accomplishment and exhaustion after completing a difficult job, I don’t really remember the few words we must have exchanged.

Once I stepped out of the front door of Tendou house, with its nostalgic-like smell of old wood and earth, I was greeted by fierce sunlight and the noisy cicadas.

There was a white cumulonimbus rising in the dazzling blue sky as I looked up with squinted eyes.

The day that Tendou Tsukasa was no longer my fiancée was truly a hot, typical summer day.



TL notes:

^1. Yokan = Yōkan is a wagashi made of red bean paste, agar, and sugar. It is usually sold in a block form, and eaten in slices. There are two main types: neri yōkan and mizu yōkan. “Mizu” means “water”, and indicates that it is made with more water than usual. Mizu yōkan is often chilled and eaten in the summer.

Other Changes:

Chapter 9 (correction): “I immediately took a step forward out of conviction that it sure is gonna be okay now if I’m not moving my body[…]” to “I immediately took a step forward out of conviction that it sure is gonna be okay now if I’m moving my body[…]”

Chapter 9 (correction): “—The next day, I received a call from my father at home, saying that the Tendou house had approached him about breaking off the engagement.” to “—The next day, I received a call from my father back at home, saying that the Tendou house had approached him about breaking off the engagement.”


Support the author by buying the book here!

Leave a comment