I Lent 500 Yen To A Friend And He Gave Me His Sister As Collateral. What Should I Do? V1: Chapter 4-part 2: A story about seeing my friend’s sister.

 ◇◇◇

“”Itadakimasu!””

Having arrived home, we each drank a cup of barley tea and began quickly setting up the table, clasping our hands together and facing one another.

It would’ve been better if we had taken a shower, but we decided to prioritize our appetites and simply wiped the sweat off our bodies.

If anything, I was grateful to Akari-chan for taking the initiative to propose such a thing.

This morning’s menu was rice with miso soup. It also had bacon and egg lettuce salad, that kind of western and Asian fusion cuisine.

The menu she put out was also like the morning set meal menus at the gyuudon chain I visit from time to time. This menu might just be more normal than I thought it would be.

“I reheated the eggs a little, so I hope I didn’t accidentally make them too hard.”

“Yes. But, I like them hard.”

“Is that so? So, Senpai likes them hard…he likes them hard…”

Akari-chan chanted several times, as if imprinting on herself.

“I-I don’t think it’s something worth remembering, although…supposing that’s the case, why don’t you note it down on your phone or something?”

“No, it’s not polite to use your smartphone while you’re eating!”

“N-No need to be so serious…plus, I’m looking at it.”

“But that’s because Senpai’s the one looking at it.”

Akari-chan straightened her back as she said it with a serious expression on her face.

I don’t know if she still doesn’t trust me or if she’s still nervous, but I can’t deny the person in question if that’s what she wants to do.

Feeling a little awkward, I took a gulp of the miso soup.

“Yeah, just as I thought, it’s delicious.”

“Hee-hee, thank you.”

“This, you made it with the miso they regularly sell, right?”

“Yes. Using the dashi was a little exaggerated, so I thought the store-bought miso would be delicious enough.”

Believe it or not, Akari-chan’s food was normal. Of course, in a good way.

Yesterday’s curry was also not made from spices, but from a commercial curry roux that I know well.

The same goes for today’s miso soup. Dried wakame seaweed, tofu that costs less than 100 yen a piece…probably, there was nothing special if you looked at it, it was your typical home-cooked meal.

But, that’s why it’s good. It wasn’t special. It was normally delicious, and it kind of felt like home.

“Haa…”

Miso soup, bacon and egg lettuce salad…there was nothing special about it, but eating it, made me sigh somewhat.

It’s a relief. This was naturally what I took for granted when I was living at my parent’s home…

My heart grew warm. What Akari-chan said, “A boy living alone needs a girl home-cooked meal.” I think I now understand what she means.

She was a girl, and having her cook a meal for me made me immensely happy.

“Senpai? Is something wrong?”

“What? A-Ah, no…”

I felt the inner part of my eyelids grow hot, hardened and closed tightly.

With Akari-chan pointing that out, I right away mended my appearances and took a bite once again.

What can I say? I wonder if I can get such a good deal for the price of only 500 yen. Even though I was paying for the food out of my own wallet.

Despite my thoughts, my body, faithful to my desires, continued to move the chopsticks without hesitation, and the breakfast in front of my eyes quickly turned to nothing in an instant.

“Thank you for the meal.”

“Yes. Thank you.”

I clasped both my hands before Akari-chan in gratitude. It’s been a long time since I felt any feeling of satisfaction.

And thus, now comes the relaxed time characteristic of after a meal, however──

“Ah, Akari-chan. I’ll do the tidying up.”

“It’s okay. I can do it.”

Smiling sweetly, Akari-chan piled up the empty dishes, and for a moment, I almost let it slide, thinking, 『Well, she did it for me yesterday, so I guess I can just leave it to her』. However, I immediately changed my mind and barked back.

“No, you should go take a shower. Besides, it’s not right to make you clean up after you’ve just fed me a delicious meal.”

“I’m glad you feel that way, but…Senpai, didn’t you say you couldn’t wash the dishes? Besides, I’ve already done the preparation, so I have to clean up properly.”

“N-No…I’ll do it. A-Also, at home, my mom would prepare the food and my dad would clean up afterwards!”

It may not be the standard nowadays for a man to work and a woman to cook, but in my family, my father worked one job…while my mother did most of the housework. However, he didn’t leave it all up to her. My father washed the dishes after dinner. Well, he did it as much as he could to the extent he was around.

Although I didn’t think anything of my father, who came home tired from work and still took the initiative to clean up after himself when I was living at home……I now somewhat understand how he feels.

“Mother cooks. Father cleans up.”

“A-Akari-chan…?”

For some reason, Akari-chan repeated my words like a robot.

And then, her face turned a deep red. Did I say such an embarrassing thing…?

“U-Um, Senpai?”

“Y-Yes?”

“While this may be arrogant of me, I would like to presume upon Senpai’s words and accept it right away.”

“A-Ah. That’s good, t-that, well then…”

“Like Senpai’s mother, I’ll cook, while Senpai, like his father, will tidy up…hee-hee.”

“Y-Yes.”

When she repeated it so many times, I couldn’t help but feel embarrassed, like she was peeping into the affairs of the Shiragi family.

Anyway, since Akari-chan didn’t seem to have any objections, I took over the tidying up. In the meanwhile, I had Akari-chan wash away the sweat from whilst we were running──

“That’s right, Senpai. Can I do the laundry, too?”

“Ah, yes.”

“By the way, who did the laundry, your mother or your father?”

“Huh? Uh, my mother?”

“Is that so? Then, I will be in charge of the laundry. Just like your mother!”

Holding such enthusiasm, Akari-chan rushed to the changing room where the washing machine was located. She probably intends to take a shower and then run the washing machine while she’s at it.

How should I put it? My parents’ share of the household chores is being teased out beautifully……sorry, mum, dad.

While apologizing in my heart to my parents in a distant place, I carried the tableware to the kitchen, thoroughly washing them one by one. When suddenly, the door to the changing room opened, with Akari-chan peeking out behind it.

“..Senpai?”

“A-Ah, yes?”

“Um…er…underwear, what should I do with it?”

“Underwear? ……Ah!! That’s right! Underwear!! I’m sorry!!”

For a moment, I didn’t understand what she was talking about, but then I turned pale as I remembered that I had thrown it in the laundry basket yesterday when I took a bath, just like I always do.

P-Perhaps, my underwear’s already in the view of Akari-chan!?

“W-Wait, I’ll retrieve it! Errr, put it in the net, no, to begin with, Akari-chan’s laundry…argh, why didn’t I think of this yesterday…!?”

“U-Um, Senpai. I don’t mind washing ours together, uh…it’s fine, although.”

“No, don’t worry about it.”

“Senpai’s father and mother wash theirs separately…?”

“E-Enough of that already!”

I, as a son, grew somewhat ashamed. By the way, my family consists of three people, and as suspected, we do all of our laundry at the same time, regardless of gender!

“You don’t have to worry about it, Senpai! I’m a freeloader…or rather, I’m collateral! Um, so I think it’s okay if we put ours together in the net!”

“No, but…..umm……”

“After all, the water bill will cost more, no…b-but, urgh, if Senpai insists on washing the clothes separately, then I don’t need it!”

“E-Eh!?”

Akari-chan just said something strange!

Refusing to use the laundry, that is to say, she’s not planning to wash them at all…!?

“T-That’s not good!”

“After all, it’s going to cost us extra for the water!”

“N-No, to say such a thing…”

Cooking, using the restroom, bathing…because the person counts doubled, the amount of water used will also double via a simple calculation, but that’s like completely stirring a hornet’s nest.

『Then I won’t go into the washroom or enter the bath!』What a messy situation it would be were she to say such a thing.

“U-Ugh, I get it. I get it! T-Then I’ll put my underwear into the net.
T-Therefore, we’ll be washing it together! H-Hey!”

“…Understood. Please don’t withdraw it later, okay?”

“I-I won’t!”

I nodded abruptly, feeling slightly relieved inside. I’m glad it didn’t develop into something more than it needed to be.

“Well then, Senpai. Sorry for troubling you, but I can take it from here.”

While saying so, Akari-chan takes the laundry net into the dressing room

“Hey, why did you deliberately put it inside…ah…”

As I was listening reflexively, however, I became lost for words when I saw the clothes being placed on the top of the laundry net.

That was, the clothes that Akari-chan wore just a short while ago.

“P-Pardon me…I just realized that after I took off my clothes, u-um…to reveal a little bit of my appearance right now, might not be a very good idea…”

“T-That’s right!”

“A-And, I would say, putting on my clothes while I’m still sweaty might be a hassle…well, I’m wearing my underwear, but if it’s absolutely necessary, then I’ll..!”

“D-Don’t say anything! Don’t say anything else! J-Just wait there!”

I shouted, while I hurriedly tried stuffing my underwear into the basket…but

“U-Um, Akari-chan. The laundry basket, but…it’s on the shelf above the washing machine in the dressing room…”

“Eh? Ah, is that it? Okay…there, got it!”

“Thanks, then can you give that to──”

“Nngh!?”

For some reason, Akari-chan let out a surprised voice.

No, I definitely didn’t say anything strange this time, but──I have a bad feeling about this…

“U-Understood…u-um, this is so embarrassing…!”

Immediately after a few disturbing words, the dressing room door slowly begins to open.

I had a bad premonition about this behavioural pattern.

“S-Stop! Stop!! Akari-chan! You don’t have to go out of your way to deliver it to me personally! Just throw the laundry net down the hallway as you did earlier!!”

“A-Ah!! T-That’s right!?”

Akari-chan notices, too, letting out a shrill voice while throwing the laundry net down the hallway. Throw? No, how could a laundry basket be thrown so beautifully…?

“Y-Yes, it’s there now!”

“A-Ah!”

While backchanneling in the midst of the awkwardness, I ran the moment Akari-chan closed the dressing room door and secured the laundry net. I quickly picked up my pants (trunks type) and sealed them in the laundry net so that they would not touch Akari-chan’s clothes.

Alright, the root of evil has been dealt with completely. Was there any need to hurry in the first place, but…ah, that’s right?

“Akari-chan, is it okay if I add one more piece of laundry?”

“Hmm? Of course, go ahead.”

Why did I bother telling her such a thing? To Akari-chan, who had such a reaction.

Well, never mind. I took off the shirt I was wearing and wrapped it up so that Akari-chan would not see the contents, just in case the laundry net turned transparent.

And finally, I repositioned the laundry basket to where the opening of the door was, and…voila, all good!

“Akari-chan, it’s done!”

“Yes!”

Akari-chan slowly opened the door with a timid look on her face.

Then, she slowly pulls the laundry net into the changing room, closing the door with a bang.

Phew…at least I avoided the situation where I unexpectedly meet her in her underwear…!

Feeling relieved, I resumed washing──no, before that, I should put on my top. After all, if I left my upper part naked as it is, Akari-chan may potentially see me when she finishes using the shower.

With this in mind, I was about to move from the kitchen to the bedroom.

──The layout of our house is as follows.

The entrance is connected through the hallway from the kitchen to the bedroom, which exists a door to the dressing room. The dressing room contains the washing machine and the washbasin; also, the bathroom and toilet were linked from here. Incidentally, the bathroom and toilet were separate.

The door from the hallway to the changing room is hinged. It is the type of door that can be opened by twisting the doorknob, as is often the case.

The door that is pushed open from the dressing room hides the kitchen from the corridor, so until a while ago, Akari-chan and I did not have to face each other.

And then.

The door from the dressing room becomes a wall in the direction of the kitchen and hides it. However, if it opens on one side, it is naturally defenceless on the other side.

The bedroom is on the opposite side of the kitchen.

I never felt it was particularly good, but I never thought it inconvenient either.

But as I headed toward the bedroom to get my clothes – somehow, I saw the door to the changing room open again, and for the first time, I cursed the construction of this room.

“S-Senpai! T-This, I just took it off…”

Why did she intentionally open the door?

In the first place, Why didn’t I wait until Akari-chan completely entered the bathroom?

To think that it became such a festival.

As a matter of fact, Akari-chan was the one who opened the door.

And, because of the structure of this room…there was nothing to block us from seeing each other clearly.

I was naked on top, wearing only my shorts, and Akari-chan was in her underwear, clutching my T-shirt.

(P-Pink…..)

Dammit, I saw it so clearly that there’s no way for me to talk my way out of this.

Wait──no, fortunately, or unfortunately, Akari-chan was still wearing her shorts. It seems that it was at the shirt stage that she noticed after taking off her clothes. That’s good. Really good.

However, her upper body alone was incredibly destructive.

Akari-chan’s face was unmistakably filled with shame──her neck a deep red, frozen as it was at the opening of the door, and I, like her, was sewn to the door, unable to move.

Smooth and soft skin. A clear swelling chest. A waist that wasn’t muscular but properly defined around the hips…my eyes glided back and forth.

(Wait, seriously, what are you looking at? Idiot. Restrain yourself. She’s──)

That’s right. She’s my friend’s younger sister. Don’t think of her as a girl who’s only one year older than you.

A messy start, a sudden story, I don’t exactly know what she──or, quote, the Miyamae siblings, have in mind, but…I’ve decided to accept it.

I’m sure that both Akari-chan and Subaru put their trust in me……for that reason, I can’t betray them.

“Sorry!”

“Ah…”

I yelled out from the bottom of my stomach and turned away to drive off my stupid desires.

I don’t really know how long I was watching. It seemed like an eternity, and it seemed like a moment.

However, I saw it. That fact can’t be bent. Therefore, I have to apologize…I’m glad I turned my back.

…But I can’t think of any good words that come to mind. The only word that comes to mind is “I’m sorry”, no matter how hard I try.

However, the more times you apologize, the lighter the apology becomes. I learned that a long time ago.

Therefore, I need to think of something other than “I’m sorry,” something, anything──

“Senpai.”

A voice so calm that I couldn’t help but be taken aback.

“Why are you apologizing to me, Senpai? It was my fault. I got excited on my own and opened the door.”

“N-No, that’s not the case. It’s my fault for moving so strangely.”

“But Senpai, you changed your clothes──a-ah choo!”

Suddenly, Akari-chan let out a sneeze as I was about to turn around reflexively, but I managed to control myself.

And then, Akari-chan, after that, let out a small laugh.

“S-Sorry…”

“N-No, after all, if you think about it, aren’t the both of us naked right now…?”

From an objective point of view, this composition is quite strange. It’s not easy for the people concerned, though.

Moreover, because it is summer, exposing your bare skin inside an air-conditioned room is unpleasantly cold. Even though I’m sweating, my body still feels cold.

“For the time being, um…why don’t you take a shower?”

“Yes, that’s right. I will! Thank you, Senpai!”

While thanking me cheerfully, Akari-chan shut the dressing room door.

And then, a while later, I heard the door behind her closing again. She probably went into the bathroom.

“Hah…”

After hearing that, I felt my shoulders relax.

However, my feelings remained heavy──there’s no doubt about it. The verdict was put off.

“I give up…that’s right, we’re living in the same room…it’s only been a while, so I thought a moment like that wouldn’t happen, but…isn’t this too early!?”

There was no guarantee it wouldn’t happen…but I really wished that it didn’t.

And there was so little time to prepare myself for the fact that it would come one day…because it was the day after Akari-chan’s arrival!? Moreover, it was the very next morning!! Not even a whole day had passed!!

“Guh…… no, it doesn’t matter if I groan. It’s Akari-chan who has the hardest time…….”

I told myself that and put on a replacement T-shirt for the time being.

And then, I continued doing the dishes. It’s a good diversion to give up thinking.

However, watching the dirt on the dishes fall off, I felt a little bit better.

◇◇◇

“Senpai, you don’t think I’m angry at you, right?”

“Eh?”

Akari chan, who had come back from her run, showered and just changed into her plain clothes, did not laugh or get angry at me bowing to her on the floor as if respecting an elder but just reacted with a bewildered look.

“A-After all, we are equal in that regard, are we not? I accidentally saw it, but Senpai also accidentally saw it…”

“No, a man’s body and a girl’s body are totally different…….”

“That’s because Senpai is a man. As far as it’s concerned, for me, I rather…n-no. Anyway, we’re equal in that regard!”

Akari-chan’s face was flushed. She leaned her body forward, hitting the table with a powerful force.

“So, please stop with that apologetic face of yours, Senpai! There was nothing wrong with what you did! If that’s the case, why don’t you see it again!?”

The excited-looking Akari-chan, with her face a deep red, for some reason, placed her hands on the buttons on her blouse and started undoing them from the top…w-wait, eh!?

“No, no, it’s okay!”

I stopped Akari-chan’s hand right away.

“That’s because, you don’t really understand the meaning!”

“A-Ah…that’s right…”

“I understand. I won’t care about it anymore.”

Akari-chan let go of her hand and let out a hearty sigh.

My pent-up feelings had not completely gone away, but I was feeling more fatigued than anything else. Is it true that it’s not even twelve in the morning yet..?

I wonder what happened to Akari-chan. I turned towards her and saw her standing there motionlessly with both hands, as in a daze.

“Ah, the washing machine!”

Suddenly, Akari-chan shouted, raising her face while looking at me.

“U-Um, I was thinking of asking Senpai. How do you use the washing machine? Since my house uses a different model.”

“A-Ah…but, I’ve never really read the manual properly either, so if you could just play with it around for me…..”

“……….Senpai?”

“A-Ah, okay! I’ll tell you! I’ll tell you!”

“Yes, please teach me.”

A smile similar to an angel surfaced on Akari-chan’s face, which seemed even more impressive and forceful than her previous smile. No, that’s my fault for trying to slip it past her.

I went to the dressing room to teach Akari-chan how to use the washing machine.

Thus, we were both operating the washing machine, but…close. Very close, in fact.

It’s not the kind of distance you take with someone who has seen your bare skin. Even though she should be using the same shampoo and body soap I usually do, she smells incredibly good…!

“Fabric softener, is it okay to put the fabric softener into the insertion slot?”

“Yeah. You can put the detergent in with the laundry.”

“I understand!”

In fact, it is a cheap device suitable for a one-person household. Since the controls are simple, Akari-chan quickly understands how to use them since they are limited to a few functions. It was so easy that I thought she already knew how to use it from the very beginning.

“This should be okay.”

After finishing the operation, she made sure the washing machine started to move, and then, a satisfied-looking smile surfaced on Akari-chan’s face.

Immediately, she turned her head to me with a start.

“Ah, by the way, Senpai. Don’t you have to take a shower?”

“Eh? Ah…I forgot all about it. Well, I’m not sweating right now, so I don’t think I’ll──”

No, wait.

Sure, normally, I would be sloppy and ignore the shower, but now, I have a girl here before me.

W-Wait, isn’t being smelly before a girl, the so-called smelly harassment…!?

“W-Well, now that I think about it, I shouldn’t let it slide so lightly, yeah.”

“That’s right. Well then, I’ll be waiting outside.”

“Yeah, make yourself at home.”

Seeing Akari-chan leave the dressing room and watching her firmly close the door, I began taking off my clothes.

Well, now that I’ve turned on the washing machine, there should be no more errands left to do in the dressing room. No more happenings!

“Um, Senpai.”

“A-Ah!?”

I thought she was gone, but then a voice called out to me through the door, making me recoil.

“Eh…? A-Ah, no, I’m sorry! T-That, uh…”

“W-What’s wrong?”

In spite of myself, a strange sound leaked out of my mouth, but I managed to keep up appearances and remain calm. No, I couldn’t keep up appearances. I made another strange voice.

Anyway, calm down. If you look like you’re in a panic, the likelihood of Akari-chan busting into the changing room out of concern is relatively high.

No, really, it’s not a good idea to have her come in now. Because, unlike before, it’s not just the top!

Also, why doesn’t this dressing room have a lock, designer!?

“U-Um, there’s something I want to ask, but, um…”

If it was something you didn’t have to ask now, I wish you didn’t ask now.

That’s what I thought, but why can’t I say, “Well then, Later on”.

“Okay, what?”

I tried my best not to make Akari-chan panic, asking her in a soft and gentlemanly tone. Well, my outward appearance is not gentlemanly, but.

“W-Well, um…I’m talking about Senpai’s pants for the laundry!”

A-Ah, that. Well, I can just wrap myself with a towel. What’s the worse that can happen──after all?

“Um, it should be okay to put it in the net and wash it, but you probably have to take it out of the net when you hang it up to dry, so if you’re just asking to make sure, then…”

No, did you really come here to ask me that!?

“Supposing I have to touch Senpai’s high-quality pants, and it’s okay with you, I’d like to receive your opinion on it, so I can prepare myself for the occasion.”

You’re talking and acting like a robot again!

And why are you being so condescending……!?

“I-I’ll take care of it! So you don’t have to prepare for it!!”

“Eh, b-but…does Senpai’s father also dry his pants by himself?”

Another one of her parental teasings…!?

“T-That’s right! My dad also dried his pants himself!”

Sorry, dad. I don’t know how it happened, but because of my friend’s sister, my dad has become someone who hangs his own pants to dry.

Well, I’m not doing anything wrong, and I’m sure Dad will forgive me, right……?

“I see…….I understand! Your dad hangs up his own pants while your mother hangs up everything else.”

“Yes, that’s right!”

“Hah…I’m feeling somewhat refreshed. Thank you, Senpai.”

“R-Really? I’m glad to hear that. Haha…”

I let out a deep sigh as I listened to the sound of Akari-chan’s footsteps, leaving the front of the changing room with a hum.

I feel so, so incredibly tired. Anyway, let’s take a quick shower before anything else happens.

As I took a shower, I felt restless inside and realized how difficult it is to live with a girl.

On a side note, I heard Akari-chan brought a laundry net to dry her underwear during this stay.

It felt a bit unfair, but I think I would have been a little concerned if a girl’s underwear had been hanging on my balcony, so in the end, I settled for saying, “After all, Akari-chan is a nice and caring girl.”



TL notes:


Support the author by buying the book here!

One thought on “I Lent 500 Yen To A Friend And He Gave Me His Sister As Collateral. What Should I Do? V1: Chapter 4-part 2: A story about seeing my friend’s sister.

Leave a comment